Dry Diving to 50 metres!

Have you ever experienced nitrogen narcosis while diving?  Some people think that they’ve never been affected by it.  Well, one way to find out for sure is to do a Dry Dive!

On 17th May we’re taking 12 divers to a hyperbaric chamber at the London Diving Chamber to dive to 50 metres.  This will be deeper then most of them have been before and I’m sure that everyone will experience nitrogen narcosis and be ‘narked’.

Some divers are a bit scared of getting narked for the first time as they don’t know how they’ll react.  So we think that by diving to 50 metres in the safe environment of the chamber is a great way to experience it.

I’ve done a dry dive before and I discovered that when I was narked I felt like I’d had a couple of glasses of wine and my lips began to tingle.  Now I know that if I feel the same underwater the chances are that I’m narked!  As soon as we ascended the tipsy/tingly feeling completely disappeared.

The dive is just like a normal dive – apart from we’re not in water!  You still need to equalise and be fit for the dive and it even counts as a logged dive!  We’re not allowed to wear normal clothes inside the chamber so we change into hospital scrubs.  We’ll be doing two dives with 6 divers on each dive.  We can take our dive computers into the chamber and put them in a bucket of water to log the dive.  The dive takes just 48 minutes.

To really notice the effects of the nitrogen, we’ll do a simple timed exercise on the surface before the dive, and then we’ll repeat the exercise at 50 metres and, once back on the surface, we’ll compare results!

When I did the dive I found it hysterically funny at 50 metres, but I won’t give away why, you’ll just have to come along and see for yourself!

We’ve got a few spaces left on 17 May so give us a call on 020 7924 4106 if you’d like to join us.  It costs £40 and you’ll need to bring a cert card to show you’re a qualified diver and complete a medical form.

Leave a Reply

